The Minor Prophets

The Word Is Alive

The Minor Prophets

The books that comprise the Twelve Minor Prophets are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi.

The Minor Prophets are so called not because the Major Prophets are more important, but because the books of the Major Prophets are lengthier and cast a correspondingly longer shadow on Old Testament history and theology, whereas the books of the Minor Prophets do not.

These books transcribe the teachings, warnings, calls for repentance, and words of encouragement pronounced by the prophets, people chosen to be spokesmen for God. Prophets stood alongside priests as representatives of God on earth, conveying messages directly from God to the people of Israel.

The prophets’ calling to be the conscience of Israel often set them against the Israelite establishment, invariably because the people and rulers of Israel had strayed from God’s commands.

The Minor Prophets cover three general groups those that prophesied in the Northern Kingdom of Israel and those in the Southern Kingdom of Judah, both before their respective exiles to Assyria and Babylon, and those who prophesied after the return of the Babylonian exiles.